Wright Skills, The

Grade Levels: PreK-3

The Wright Skills is a comprehensive skills program that explicitly and sequentially addresses three of the Five Essential Elements of reading: phonemic awareness, phonics, and vocabulary development, with fluency and comprehension development occurring as a result of automaticity in decoding. Easy-to-use lesson plans provide explicit instructional strategies on each specific skill area, following a demonstrate, coach, apply, and assess approach.

Wright Skills, The

Pre-Kindergarten Program

Through the use of shared reading and phonological awareness lessons, preschool children are exposed to and engaged in a variety of developmentally appropriate activities.

Grades K–3 Program

The Wright Skills provides direct, systematic, and explicit instruction in phonemic awareness, phonics, and vocabulary development, as well as spelling and writing, using a Demonstrate, Coach, and Apply model. Lessons give students opportunity to blend, segment, and manipulate sounds and word elements and to decode words in the active process of reading in connected text.