America, Russia and the Cold War 1945-2006
Table of Contents

Interested in seeing the entire table of contents?

Program Details


Preface to the Tenth Edition

Introduction: The Burden of History (To 1941)

Chapter 1: Open Doors, Iron Curtains (1941-1945)

Chapter 2: Only Two Declarations of Cold War (1946)

Chapter 3: Two Halves of the Same Walnut (1947-1948)

Chapter 4: The "Different World" of NSC-68 (1948-1950)

Chapter 5: Korea: The War for Both Asia and Europe (1950-1951)

Chapter 6: New Issues, New Faces (1951-1953)

Chapter 7: A Different Cold War (1953-1955)

Chapter 8: East and West of Suez (1954-1957)

Chapter 9: New Frontiers and Old Dilemmas (1957-1962)

Chapter 10: Southeast Asia--and Elsewhere (1962-1966)

Chapter 11: A New Containment: The Rise and Fall of Detente (1966-1976)

Chapter 12: From Cold War to Old War: Reagan and Gorbachev (1977-1989)

Chapter 13: A New World Order--Or the Age of Fragmentation? (1989-1993)

Chapter 14: The Post-Cold War Era: Clinton, Yeltsin, and Back to a Bush (1993-2000)

Chapter 15: The World Turned Upside Down (2001-2006)