After the Fact: The Art of Historical Detection, Volume I 6 9780077292683 For more than twenty-five years, After the Fact has guided students through American history and the methods used to study it. In dramatic episodes that move chronologically through American history, this best-selling book examines a broad variety of topics including oral evidence, photographs, ecological data, films and television programs, church and town records, census data, and novels. Whether for an introductory survey or for a historical methods course, After the Fact is the ideal text to introduce readers, step by step, to the detective work and analytical approaches historians use when they are actually doing history.
After the Fact: The Art of Historical Detection, Volume I

After the Fact: The Art of Historical Detection, Volume I

6th Edition
By James West Davidson and Mark Lytle
ISBN10: 0077292685
ISBN13: 9780077292683
Copyright: 2010
Product Details +

Purchase Options

Students, we’re committed to providing you with high-value course solutions backed by great service and a team that cares about your success. See tabs below to explore options and pricing. Don't forget, we accept financial aid and scholarship funds in the form of credit or debit cards.


Receive via shipping:

  • Bound book containing the complete text
  • Full color
  • Hardcover or softcover

What are my shipping options?

ISBN10: 0077292685 | ISBN13: 9780077292683



The estimated amount of time this product will be on the market is based on a number of factors, including faculty input to instructional design and the prior revision cycle and updates to academic research-which typically results in a revision cycle ranging from every two to four years for this product. Pricing subject to change at any time.

Program Details

Prologue: The Strange Death of Silas Deane

Chapter 1. Contact

Chapter 2. Serving Time in Virginia

Chapter 3. The Visible and Invisible Worlds of Salem

Chapter 4. Declaring Independence

Chapter 5. Material Witness

Chapter 6. Jackson's Frontier-and Turner's

Chapter 7. The Madness of John Brown

Chapter 8. The View from the Bottom Rail